Rage Against The Machine…Halloween Edition

With Halloween over now I can now reflect back on what was a great first Trick or Treat experience. It didn’t start out very good though as I spent the first 3 hours of my day fuming about the fuddy-duddy’s at daycare.

Let me explain, I got to dress up for work so obviously while I was getting my costume on my little girl wanted to put on her Super Girl costume for daycare to show her friends. No harm done. It’s just a dress with a Superman logo.

Oh, the humanity! Look at that horror!

I remember getting to dress up for school every year for Halloween and having fun so I wanted the same for her. We got to daycare and the robustly round daycare employee decided to inform my child loudly to let me know before I left that she could not wear a costume because they “don’t do Halloween”. After a look of disgust I pulled my kid aside and took the costume off. Luckily she was wearing clothes underneath. While removing her costume I noticed 2 boys in the corner putting on firemen jackets that the daycare provided for costume play. What the heck!?! It’s not like she’s wearing wings or a slutty nurse uniform. It’s a dress that I’m considering putting in her clothing rotation just to make waves.

What is wrong with our society? I just don’t get all this politically correct crap. It really didn’t bother me before but now that I have a kid I want her to experience all the fun stuff that I did as a child. Instead now she has to abide by fireworks laws for the 4th of July and has to call Thanksgiving now “The Harvest”. And don’t even think about Christmas because that’ll get you in some serious trouble. I just don’t see what’s the harm in having fun. Who do I blame? The overbearing parents that ban peanut-butter sandwiches because of possible allergies? Religious crazy people who outlaw fun in the name of God or whoever? I remember when I was a small child I went to a private Christian school and we had a Christmas assembly. At the front of the stage were 2 different Christmas trees – a Jesus tree and a Satan tree. The Jesus tree had an angel or a star on top and the Satan tree had…..Santa Claus!

 

So evil but he still gives you presents

I cried for like 3 weeks about it. Luckily I had cool parents that didn’t believe their brand of bullshit and allowed us to be kids and enjoy Santa like every kid. I want my child to experience everything she can. It’s not like this sterile environment we’re creating is making things better for everyone. I’m pretty sure things are, like the worst delivered line from an amazing movie, Worse Than Ever.

I don’t feel like paying to put in a 7 second video showing my obscure reference so check it out   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zja3pcPMszc

Anyway, enough of my soapbox. We had a great time after all that hub-bub. The little one was a Trick or Treating champ! Once she got to one house and got some candy she was all over it and starting sprinting from house to house. Trick or Treat – Oh YOU’RE SO CUTE! – candy – Thank You! – Repeat. We all dressed up as a Super Family with our Superman/girl costumes. We win at Halloween thanks to our friends who live in an upscale development and everyone else around. There were a few houses that were set up a little scary with people waiting to scare people. Thankfully they would keep the scares coiled and let my little girl pass without reprise.

All in all, I’ve learned a little about myself and we had a Super Halloween. I’m sure, in regards to the sterilization of our society, things get worse over time but I think we have at least another fun 5 years of trick or treating until they outlaw it.

About Josh K

I've always been known as the "funny guy" but getting that "funny" from my brain to paper is still a work in progress. For as far back as I can remember I've just wanted to write for a living and now that I have some big changes in life I finally have a story to tell. Here goes nothin'.....
This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

