Pop-Kern: Little Einsteins, You Should Be Ashamed

I really wasn’t planning on having anything written today as my mind is pretty close to a blank as it’s ever been. Luckily, good ol’ TV came to my rescue. The little one and I are sitting down watching Little Einsteins. If you haven’t seen the show, it’s a kid’s show that encourages a lot of learning about classical music and art and ballet and whatnot. So basically the hope is that you have your child watch the show and someday they will become part of the London Philharmonic Orchestra or be the Sugar Plum Fairy in the Nutcracker and be able to buy you a house for your loving contribution of paying for DirecTV so they could have the Lil’ Einsteins influence. Today, however, we had a different kind of influence.

As they normally do, they were talking on the show about instruments and tempos. Today we learned about speeding up and slowing down. These words are accelerando and ritardando. That’s right, ritardando, which is fine until your child decides that’s the only part that they want to remember and starts yelling it.

Big Einstein sometimes looked a little "ritardando" himself

I love that she’s picking these things up and it may serve her well later in life but chances are that her daycare supervisors don’t get much into tempo or the Italian language which may cause for a false alarm. I don’t need a talking to from them in regards to political correctness. So I guess rather than me being worried about Little Einsteins or my child I’m more concerned with everyone else’s idiocy.

About Josh K

I've always been known as the "funny guy" but getting that "funny" from my brain to paper is still a work in progress. For as far back as I can remember I've just wanted to write for a living and now that I have some big changes in life I finally have a story to tell. Here goes nothin'.....
This entry was posted in Media, Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

