Bugs Bunny, Where Art Thou?

There are plenty of things from my childhood that have gone the way of the dodo over the years: Slap bracelets, Stussy, Pogs, and my virginity. There’s one thing from when I was a wee pup that I thought would always be a part of popular culture though. Let me explain how I found out the contrary.

The other day the lil’ one and I were eating carrots when I decided to try my best Bugs Bunny impression.

ME: (chomping on a carrot) Eh, What’s Up Doc?
Silence from the kiddo
ME: (again, this time using fingers in place of long ears) Eh, What’s Up Doc?
More silence from the kiddo
MRS: She doesn’t know what that is
ME: WHAT!!?!!? OMG, WTF, GASP!
 

That’s when it hit me. She doesn’t know who Bugs Bunny is. I ran to the computer and brought up a picture of Bugs Bunny thinking that maybe my impression was just off. I pulled up the picture as frantically as I could and asked her what it was. She said “a bunny”. I then asked if she knew what his name was. She didn’t and asked what it was. I said “Bugs Bunny”. Her response: “Ewwwwwww.” That solidified it, there is going to be an entire generation that doesn’t know what the Looney Tunes are.

I was going to make a joke here about how she thinks that Bugs Bunny is a rabbit with maggots on it and post a picture of it too but it was too gross even for me so here you go. Cuddly yet not edgy

How can that possibly be? They’ve been around for nearly 80 years and they’ve just decided to stop creating new ways to tie into the fabric of our lives now. Seriously, think about it, they’ve been in movies (Space Jam and Roger Rabbit), in commercials (McDonalds and Nike), in cartoons obviously and in any county fair as cheap knockoff game prizes. Hell, I think up until the 7th grade every piece of clothing I had was Looney Tunes based. They just got more bad-ass as I got older from the regular Bugs Bunny in the 3rd grade to the Taz that wore cool shades as he wore a Orlando Magic jersey in the 6th grade. Man, he was too legit to quit!

"It's Rabbit Season, MuthaF#*@#%#$"

I’ve done some research and I think I’ve pinpointed the moment that they died though and it wasn’t from natural causes. In 2003, there was a little film starring Brendan Fraser called Looney Tunes: Back in Action. I knew Brendan Fraser was capable of horrible things after seeing the Mummy franchise but I never knew he was capable of killing off an entire animated franchise. That’s my only lead because no one has seen Bugs and his crew since then.

Have you seen this coyote?

Now, it’s like they’ve been erased from society and I don’t think they are coming back. If you haven’t yet figured out my emotion in this post so far, I’m shocked. It’s like they were Marty McFly and they are slowly disappearing from the picture of our lives only there’s no Under The Sea Dance to save them. RIP Bugs, RIP Daffy, RIP Taz, and go to hell Sylvester and Tweety. No one like them anyway.

About Josh K

I've always been known as the "funny guy" but getting that "funny" from my brain to paper is still a work in progress. For as far back as I can remember I've just wanted to write for a living and now that I have some big changes in life I finally have a story to tell. Here goes nothin'.....
This entry was posted in Media, Parenting, Randomness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bugs Bunny, Where Art Thou?

  1. They’re alive and well and to be found emblazoned on adult jeans, socks and ties in Russia! SO wrong and yet so reassuring to know that they live on.

Leave a Reply

