We Have Fun Having Fun

As a fun-loving child in an adult body I love the opportunity to be goofy in any situation. I’ve cultivated this into a persona of the “fun guy” at work that I’m sure is the only reason why I still have a job. Immediate parenthood has given me the excuse to kick it up the goofiness a notch to an audience that loves every minute of it. I’ve noticed though that this generation of new toddlers isn’t content with “hide and seek” or “tag”. It’s like the overwhelming saturation of entertainment available to kids now has eliminated the desire for simple fun. The interesting thing is that once we’ve found something that entertains her she wants to do it over and over. I would have thought that she would also have the attention span of a puppy on a Red Bull IV drip but she’s just wanting something to keep her happy and when she has it she’s completely content for a while. So the goal is to come up with fun things to do. The more fun, the less I have to come up with. That sounds lazy but it’s true. So here are some of the things we’ve come up with.

First, we started sword-fighting in the morning. Before you finish that call to Child Protective Services let me explain. We purchased foam swords at the local craft store. From there I’ve put all that I’ve learned from Pirates of the Caribbean to work in showing sword-fighting techniques. I’m hoping that this leads to her representing the country in the Olympics in fencing but I’m not sure if that’s still an olympic sport. My favorite thing about this is faking my stabbed demise which is a lot more fun than it sounds. I get to have my own personal acting audition. If I don’t put my heart and soul into the death scene she makes me do it again. If I screw it up twice then she insists that I’ll never work in Hollywood again and threatens to tear up my Screen Actors Guild card. She also has developed a funny thing she does while fighting. After about a minute of hitting each other swords she’ll hold up both hands and ask me to stop stating that there is something she HAS to show me. Once my guard is down and I ask what she has to show me, that’s when she strikes with a finishing blow. It might be poor form but I love it.

Another unorthodox game that we play is Zombies. I don’t think she really knows what a zombie is, she just knows that if you use your hands to pull down your cheeks and make your eyes distorted then you are a zombie.

Kinda like this

I think the Mrs taught her this originally and there is a tiny part of the game that makes me fear for her future. She believes that the way to rid someone of zombie-ness is to kiss them. It’s cute and a lot more appropriate than informing her that you have to cut a head off or something. My concern with this is that it could lead to a horrifying situation when the actual zombie apocalypse starts and she attempts to kiss a real zombie to heal them. It actually makes me giggle a bit thinking about someone chasing a zombie to kiss it like a Prince Charming chasing his zombie Snow White. Never thought I’d use the word “zombie” and “Snow White” together in a sentence. What an achievement!

These aren’t our only pieces of fun obviously. We do all the usual princess stuff and baking stuff too but this is my attempt to keep her from becoming a prissy uptight princess. Both the Mrs and I have a twisted sense of humor and it makes for fun and interesting times at the house and I really want her to embrace that fun and become an original person rather than the next Jersey Shore cast-off. Although I’m just realizing that she might become a sword-weilding zombie fighter which might be pretty kick-ass.

About Josh K

I've always been known as the "funny guy" but getting that "funny" from my brain to paper is still a work in progress. For as far back as I can remember I've just wanted to write for a living and now that I have some big changes in life I finally have a story to tell. Here goes nothin'.....
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

